Make this now.

Seriously.

Today I lost what was left of my mind. The thing is, I’m usually a pretty smart grocery shopper. I make a list, which I stick to. I pay attention to sales. I compare prices gram for gram. I buy the olive oil in the yellow bottle even though I want to buy the pretty one with the picture of the boy picking olives. But today was a different story. Today I bought things that I did not need. Beautiful, delicious things. Expensive things. Hello goat cheese, hello boursin. Oh hey fancy black olives, wanna come home with me? I even bought kefir without knowing what kefir was. But it looked cool and it was local! I lovingly deemed it “unidentified dairy product” and added it to my basket. As soon as I got home I had a taste, “hmm, kind of like yogurt”. Then googled it, and yeah, it’s kind of like yogurt. Part of me feels guilty for buying things I don’t need. But then there’s another part of me, a bigger part, that’s just really excited to eat pomegranate and boursin. Besides, I’ve been so good at shopping carefully. I deserve this.

Right?

Anyway, before I made the most expensive grocery trip of my life I had almost no food. But I did have onions, potatoes and beans. So I made this.

It’s easy, cheap and delicious. Perfect for a girl who has A TON of things on her to-do list and should probably be studying for that upcoming psychopathology test instead of writing this post. (Oh well.) As a bonus the ingredients are ones that you probably already have in your kitchen, which means instead of running out to the store you can watch that new episode of Modern Family. Or, you know, tackle the pile of laundry that is currently taking over your room.

I got my inspiration from another Crazy Plates recipe called “This Spud’s for You”. And really, it’s so good. It’s a humble little dish, nothing groundbreaking, but even so I’m already looking forward to making it again.

This time I used frozen beans, which I like to keep around for days when I have no fresh veggies but am too tired/ busy/ lazy to run to the store. Frozen is totally fine, but if you have the foresight to buy fresh green beans do it. Fresh is always better, right?

Now this dish is really a side, but I just ate the whole thing as my dinner. But wow. Now that I think of all the things you could pair it with the possibilities are endless… Chicken breast, pork tenderloin, or a nice bloody steak. Holy moly.

Roasted Potatoes with Green Beans and Red Onions.

  • 1 large yellow potato, cubed
  • 1/3 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup frozen green beans
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400°. Spray an oven-safe dish with cooking spray, or lightly coat with olive oil. Add potato, onion and olive oil. Mix them well cover with some tin foil and roast for about 30 minutes.

Add the rest of the ingredients to the potato and roast uncovered for about 25 more minutes. Serves two sides or one small meal.

4 thoughts on “Make this now.

    • Boursin is a brand of gournay cheese. it’s a soft and rich and has about a thousand calories in one tiny spoonful. There are apparently lots of things you can do with it but I never get past spreading it on a cracker!

Leave a Reply

