My Pumpkin-Induced Insanity Continues…

Remember when I wrote about those pumpkin muffins? Well just because I haven’t posted about any new pumpkin-y recipes lately doesn’t mean my pumpkin craze has subsided. In fact things might be getting worse. The last two weeks have been filled with pumpkin lattes, pumpkin butter and pumpkin pancakes. And as if to fuel my pumpkin obsession, all kinds of mouthwatering pumpkin recipes seem to be cropping up all over the internet that I just cannot wait to try. I don’t see this pumpkin phase ending soon.You may recall that I wasn’t wowed by the last pumpkin muffins I tried. Not disappointed, but not writing home to Mom about them either. Actually, that’s a lie. I did write home to my mom about them, but it was more along the lines of begging her to read my blog than telling her how awesome the muffins were. Shortly after posting that recipe my lovely pal (and Chelsea’s roommate) Gillian sent me this link. Today I tried them out and I think I can safely say that this is what I was hoping for when I adapted the last recipe from Janet and Greta.Sweet without being cupcake-y, healthy without being health-food, and flavourful without being overpowering, these muffins meet and exceed my expectations. Fresh out of the oven they have the slight outer crispiness and soft inner warmth of a really excellent muffin. I am only slightly ashamed to admit that since taking them out of the oven an hour ago I’ve eaten four.Remember when I said I wasn’t able to find pumpkin pie spice? I was all flustered, I didn’t think it should be that difficult to find but I looked at two grocery stores and I was in the right aisle (or at least I was pretty sure I was in the right aisle) so I couldn’t figure out why I wasn’t able to find any. Then a week later I was  in the spices section again, looking for something else when I noticed the pumpkin pie spice sitting in plain sight right between the pepper and the sage. And then I realized my sillyness. When I looked the first time it was right after Thanksgiving weekend (that’s the Canadian Thanksgiving of course) when the grocery store was sold out of all things turkey related. But you can all breathe easy now because the grocery stores and my kitchen are both fully stocked. 


Pumpkin Pie Muffins
Adapted (but only slightly) from ilovemuffins

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
3 tbsp molasses
1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 400° F. Grease your muffin tin, or line with paper liners if you dislike washing dishes and actually have paper liners in your house.

In a medium bowl, whisk together all purpose flour, whole wheat flour, baking soda, salt, and spices.

In a large bowl, whisk brown sugar, molasses, oil and one of the eggs until it looks like delicious black sludge reminiscent of this guy. Add the other egg and whisk well. Whisk in the pumpkin and vanilla at this point the mixture should be a mouthwatering caramel colour. Stir in the flour mixture in two batches, alternating with the buttermilk, until just combined. You might also want to throw in some walnuts at this point because that would be good, right?

Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups, filling each about two-thirds full. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the centre of the muffins comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Makes 12-15 muffins.

Serve warm out of the oven with a nice hot mug of Toasted Walnut green tea. (I suppose most other teas would also be acceptable, but I strongly recommend you get this one as it is completely wonderful.)

4 thoughts on “My Pumpkin-Induced Insanity Continues…

  1. Jasmine, that was worth the wait! Do you think that if I stopped by your house sometime in the next couple of days to pick up my crock-pot, I’d be greeted with a hug and a muffin? Or maybe they’d already be gone, because they aren’t going to last long by the looks of them.

  2. These muffins look delicious. I can’t wait to try the recipe. The blog looks amazing too.
    What wonderful photography! Keep cooking …and studying too!
    Love ya
    Mom

Leave a Reply

