GUEST BLOG: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

Hey! So this isn’t actually Chelsea…I’m Gillian, Chelsea’s roommate. Like Jasmine and Chelsea, I also like making, looking at and eating food. BUT I am also lazy, and my cooking style tends to consist of throwing whatever is at hand together until it tastes good. This makes blogging about the meals I make a little bit difficult. However, a recipe I have made a few times recently is peanut butter chocolate chip muffins and 3rd time around they are getting pretty good so I thought I’d give blogging a try.

 

I love making muffins because they are such an easy snack. After buying a mediocre peanut butter chocolate chip muffin at school, I was inspired to try and make my own. I looked around on the internet and came up with a recipe.

Mix together the dry ingredients:

  • 1C Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1C White Flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. of cinnamon (depending on how much cinnamon you like)

 

I love cinnamon so I tend to put lots in any baking I do, but that’s up to you.

In separate bowl, whisk together:

  • ½ cup honey/maple syrup
  • ½ C peanut butter  (chunky works better because then you get peanut chunks in the muffins!)
  • 2 scant Tbs. canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C skim milk
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

 

For the honey or maple syrup I tend to use whatever’s on hand and if I have both half and half. I realize those are both a bit expensive so I’m sure brown sugar would work just as well, but maybe in a little bit smaller quantity.

Whisking is kind of important here because the peanut butter is a bit tricky to mix in if you don’t.

 

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix. Fold in chocolate chips. I use roughly half a cup of those. Mostly I just throw in a handful or two until it looks like enough.

Divide up the batter into a greased muffin tin. I’ve been using pieces of parchment paper instead of greasing the muffin pans. I don’t like using muffin cups because my muffins always stick to them if I try and eat a muffin right out of the oven. I figured out that you don’t have this problem with parchment paper, plus it makes your muffins look adorable. Stud muffin indeed. This makes about 16-20 muffins. (16 good size muffins)

 

Now for my favorite part of the recipe.

 

For this part I use smooth peanut butter. Heat a ¼ cup up in the microwave for a few seconds and mix a few teaspoons of brown sugar in. Then drop a little bit onto each muffin and swirl it into the batter. THE TOP BECOMES A DELICIOUS PEANUT BUTTER EXPLOSION!

 

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Bake for 16-18 minutes depending on the size of the muffins. They should come out nice and golden on top. Mmmmmm.

They are great right out of the oven but to keep them fresh longer you can freeze them, and they taste great defrosted as well.

Hopefully you’ll soon hear about the banana-oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies Chelsea and I baked today! (and also became my dinner)

 

One thought on “GUEST BLOG: Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Happy Wednesday! | Too Classy for KD

Leave a Reply

