Oatmeal + Chocolate Chips + Cookie = Delicious

(My favourite kind of math)

You know what’s awesome? Cookies.

Specifically these ones

You know what’s even more awesome? My roommate Gillian. Put them together and what do you get? A scrumdiddlyumptious way to spend a Friday night. (And yes, scrumdiddlyumptious is s a completely legitimate word, as every Roald Dahl fan knows)

This is approximately what happened.

I arrived home at about 5 o’clock Friday night with absolutely no plans, and a very strong desire to unwind after a week of classes and homework. So, when Gillian asked if I would like to make cookies, I replied in the most exuberant way imaginable. Something like this:

This is not an exaggeration.

Gillian quickly went to the internet and procured a recipe for Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, while I poured over my cookbooks and became happily distracted by all of the soups, cakes, muffins, breads, sides, etc. that I hope to make someday (This is a fairly commonplace event). Anyway, we settled on Gillian’s recipe and set about discussing all of the changes we might like to make. Most notably, we decided to double the batch (the only thing better than cookies: twice as many cookies!). We also added sunflower seeds, traded applesauce for a banana and some yogurt, and added (fake) maple syrup in place of some of the sugar. I will admit, these adjustments were largely motivated by a lack of applesauce and an excess of sunflower seeds and maple syrup, but I would say that they turned out to be good ones, nonetheless.

We went to work, Gillian mixing up the dry ingredients and I the wet, whilst happily chatting away. Before long, we had this!

And then this!

And then into the oven they went.

One of my favourite things about cookies is that they don’t take long to cook. As much as I love pie, it can be difficult waiting multiple hours for it to cook and cool. There’s something magical about the instant gratification of pulling a cookie out of the oven a mere ten minutes after it went in, and being able to pop it into your mouth a minute later. Of course, it’s also the reason why I ended up eating about four of them. But were they ever delicious. Sadly, I can’t shared the soft, chewy texture of a cookie fresh from the oven, or the sweet, silky, cocoa-laden taste of a still warm chocolate chip, (at least not over the internet) but I can show you a picture and leave it up to your imagination.

The finished product. Yum!

  • 1 cup WW Flour
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 4 cups of oats
  • 4 tbsp butter (room temp or melted)
  • ¾ cup brown and white sugar, each
  • ½ cup maple syrup
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 overripe banana
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • ½  cup sunflower seeds
  • ½ cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, white and brown sugar, and maple syrup. Add the eggs, and then stir in the yogurt, banana and vanilla. In another bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Add dry to wet, combine, and then mix in the chocolate chips and sunflower seeds. Drop by teaspoonful’s onto a parchment paper lined baking sheet and place into the oven for about 12 min.

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal + Chocolate Chips + Cookie = Delicious

  1. I think this is far better than gingerbread, but I hold cookies in high regard so its maybe not a fair comparison. And I’m really liking this blog and all I’ve read so far. You have all inspired me, so I think I’ll have to try out one of these recipes sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

