Pumpkins again.

It is possible that I am beginning to tire of pumpkin. But I am also in the throes of exams. As such I thought today would be a good day to talk about a recipe I made a while back, during my obsession with pumpkin. These pumpkin pancakes were absolutely delicious, and I honestly have no idea why it has taken this long for me to get around to posting them.

During my pumpkin craze I had a huge list of pumpkin things I wanted to try. The muffins I wrote about on this blog, but also pumpkin cakes, cookies, stir frys, casseroles, and waffles. I had dozens of recipes bookmarked, and while there are lots I didn’t get to, I did manage quite a lot.

But the pancakes. Do you have any idea how many recipes for pumpkin pancakes there are out there? I had at least four bookmarked. So friends, what I give you today is a hybrid of some of the recipes I found (along with my own ideas of course).

My main inspiration came from Adrianna over at A Cozy Kitchen, which you should really check it. Her post on Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Pancakes is an especially great one, not to mention the photography really puts this post to shame (for some reason I really didn’t come out with very many decent photos after making these). A fun fact about A Cozy Kitchen? Adrianna started her food blog with a friend. JUST LIKE ME AND CHELSEA. I guess it isn’t that uncommon, but I still thought it was neat.  Caroline now writes for a different blog, called Pink Basil which you should also check out. I might just make an exception to being done with pumpkin in order to try these babies.

In spite of how long it took me to get these up here, I think they were my favourite pumpkin recipe this year. Maybe next year I’ll tackle the rest of the pumpkin recipes.

Pumpkin Pie Pancakes                                                                                                          Adapted from A Cozy Kitchen (and the internet in general)

1 cup all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
1 cup milk
1 egg
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 tablespoons of butter, melted and cooled slightly

Mix the dry ingredients except for spices in a medium bowl and set aside.

Measure the wet ingredients into a blender or food processor and mix well. Add spices and blend for a minute or two, to make sure the pumpkin is really smooth.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients in two batches. Be careful not to overmix, the batter might still have some lumps.

Brush your frying pan with butter. Cook the pancakes over medium low heat. Unlike usual pancakes these won’t spread very much, so I used a spoon to spread them a bit as soon as I scooped them. Cook until you see bubbles on the surface then flip and cook for almost a minute, or until golden.

Eat as you go, or keep warm in a 200 degree oven. I served mine two ways. The first round I covered in maple syrup and sprinkled with icing sugar. The second round I spread with icing that I had leftover from making this. Maybe it’s because I’m Canadian, but for me maple syrup (not a certain aunt‘s table syrup) has always been the one and only topping for pancakes, waffles and french toast. Recently I’ve been experimenting with lemon curd, jam, custard and so on. It’s all good, but nothing will ever top maple syrup. Likewise, the icing was good but kind of overpowered the pumpkin flavour.

Freeze your leftovers so that you can heat in the microwave or toaster on busy mornings. Future you will thank you!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkins again.

  1. Mmmm. I love pancakes so much. I can hardly wait to write another post myself. Unfortunately, I’ve vowed not to go grocery shopping or do any elaborate cooking until after the 15th. It’s just too distracting. But when the 16th rolls around…

Leave a Reply

