The Best Banana Birthday Cake

Two days ago was the birthday of a very special person, someone near and dear to both Jasmine’s heart, and mine. That means that there must be cake. Fortunately, my fellow author was well prepared for the occasion, with ingredients, and most importantly, a recipe. Not just any recipe, but the same wonderful banana cake that the birthday girl’s family usually makes for her birthday. And the only thing better than Jasmine making a cake and blogging about it, is Jasmine and I making a cake together!

We made plans a few days before to get together after one of my exams. I’m immensely glad that we did, because coming out of that particular exam, I needed the comfort of a warm kitchen and a good friend. (Turns out, calculators are fairly essential when writing an exam on probability! Who knew?*) Anyway, once we’d finished catching up on each other’s lives, we got down to business and made a cake.

*If you’re actually concerned about how I did on my exam, my prof did find me a calculator about halfway through. But the panic involved wasn’t particularly conducive to good test-writing. We’ll see what happens!

I’ll admit that Jasmine did most of the work, but I’ll justify it by saying that we were in her kitchen. (Although that doesn’t explain why I was even less helpful during the cleaning up part) While I mostly flitted around taking pictures, I did mix the wet ingredients.

And then we added the bananas, the vanilla, and ALL THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS! (Really, we used up all of the chocolate chips. Admittedly, some of them went into our mouths, but most of them went into the cake.)

At this point, Jasmine prepared to pour the cake batter into the pans. Since the dry ingredients were still sitting in a bowl on the kitchen table, it’s a good thing she didn’t. I suppose that one problem you can run into when cooking with other people is that it’s easy to get distracted from what you’re doing. Fortunately, someone was paying attention (me!). Disaster averted.

After mixing in the flour and pouring the cake mix in to the pans at a more appropriate time in the baking process, they were all set to go into the oven.

Chocolate Chip Banana Cake
From Crazy Plates, with only the smallest of adaptions

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon each baking powder and soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/4 cup mashed bananas
1/2 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips (at least)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease your baking pan. We used two 8″ cake pans.

Combine flour, powder, soda and salt in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl beat together eggs and butter. Add the rest of the wet ingredients and beat until smooth.

Add dry mixture to wet mixture in batches, it should be pretty thick. Then add the chocolate chips. Make sure you eat some too. You know, like a quality check.

Bake for about 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. Serve as is, or get fancy and do some icing. It doesn’t need icing, but it wouldn’t hurt either.

TIP: if you’re making a layer cake (like us) you can bake the cakes at 300 F for about half an hour. They’ll come out flatter and be easier to stack. We went for the “cut off the dome part” method, because Jasmine wanted a taste straight out of the oven, but if you’re crazy and don’t feel like sneaking a snack ahead of time, you can totally reduce the heat for a flatter cake.

(A note from Jasmine: As soon as I finish my exams, if I ever finish my exams, I’ll post part 2 of this birthday feature: the icing. So stay tuned!)

5 thoughts on “The Best Banana Birthday Cake

  1. Eating leftover banana cake as I type… Chelsea, the funny thing is that I felt like YOU were doing most of the work. I pretty much just mashed the bananas. Many hands makes light work I guess!

  2. Pingback: Happy Belated. | Too Classy for KD

Leave a Reply

