Irish Soda Bread

Here’s that bread I promised you!

This recipe came out of my Mom’s cookbook. I know she got it from a friend, and before that, who knows? It’s one I’ve made many times, and I love this recipe for many reasons. One, it’s delicious. Two, it’s really easy. As if you need anything more than that. But I can keep going. It’s healthy, in small quantities (so really, it’s not, because I can’t recall eating a piece that wasn’t at least twice as large as it should be). In my opinion it tastes better because it’s made with whole wheat flour. It’s crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. It can be eaten for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and with almost anything (but especially Beef Stew). If you want to change it up, it can be made into biscuits instead of a loaf, or you can add totally different spices (I got you started with a few different possibilities). As I am being reminded at this very moment, cooking it makes your kitchen smell amazing. It’s been roommate and boyfriend approved. And did I mention that it tastes delicious?

Irish Soda Bread

  • 4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp each of parsley, onion flakes, caraway
  • or 1 tsp each basil and parsley, 1 clove minced garlic, 1/2 a small onion, finely chopped (my personal favourite)
  • or maybe even  2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a pinch of cloves plus a handful of raisins kneaded in at the end. I’d eat this version for breakfast with honey.
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 cups buttermilk (you can use buttermilk powder to make this if you want. That way you don’t have to have the buttermilk on hand)

Measure out all of  the dry ingredients. Cut in the butter and oil. Stir in the buttermilk. Knead slightly. Form into a round loaf or into smaller biscuits. Set on a greased tray and cut a cross in the top with a knife. For a loaf, cook at 400 for 15 min and then 350 for 40 min. For biscuits, cook at  400 for 1 min and then 350 for 20. Place on a rack to cool.

5 thoughts on “Irish Soda Bread

Leave a Reply

