Happy Wednesday!

Do you ever have one of those days where you’re sitting on the couch, reading a John Cleland novel, and you’re suddenly hit with an unignorable hankering for a Pina Colada? Before you know it, you’re standing in the grocery store trying to decide which brand of coconut milk to buy.

No?

You should try it sometime. It’s awesome.

With my tropical drink craving satisfied I moved right along to chocolate cake. I picked an easy, one bowl recipe from BBC food and tinkered with it a bit, converting the measurements (which were in grams) to cups, replacing the vegetable oil with coconut oil and adding a teaspoon of esspresso powder.

As I mixed, I had a fantastic idea. Gillian and I have matching giant teacups (you may have seen mine here or her’s here) that we once bought together at a thrift store. Chelsea loves them and uses Gillian’s all the time. So naturally, I thought of her when I found a third matching teacup at the same thrift store yesterday! Since they’ve already been proven heat-safe I thought this would be a fantastic way to show my co-blogger some Wednesday love. Not to mention, an excuse for a surprise visit to “headquarters” a.k.a Chelsea’s house, where I ended up eating some awesome nachos! There is always something tasty cooking in that kitchen.

As I said, this cake is ridiculously easy to make, easy to clean up afterwards and the ingredients are probably already in your cupboard, making it the perfect last minute chocolate cake. My only moment of panic came during the final step when I added in the hot water and saw my batter turn to a consistency so viscous it could have easily been mistaken for a beverage. I checked and double checked the recipe, then checked and double checked my conversion thinking that there was no way I had done it right. In spite of a rather understated note in the recipe that “the cake mixture will now be very liquid” I was sure my cake would be a disaster. But, I reasoned to myself that this is the BBC… I’ll just keep calm and carry on.

And guess what folks? It worked!

In the end I had one teacup cake, six small cupcakes and one round cake about 8 inches in diameter. If you’re making a regular two layered cake you’ll want two pans about 9 inches in diameter.

For the icing, I just did a really simple mix of half and half cream, unsalted butter, icing sugar and vanilla. Go by feel till you’ve got what you want. In order to avoid making Chelsea’s two roommates jealous, I personalized cupcakes for them, and while I was at it made some for my own roommates as well. Thanks to my lack of patience and the fact that it took forever to bake, the icing on the teacup cake was a litt-le melty. I should have let it cool for longer but I was just so dang excited!

As you may have deduced, I had a fantastic Wednesday. I hope you did too!

Everyday Chocolate Cake
Adapted from BBC food

2 cups flour
1-1/3 cup sugar
1 cup cocoa powder
1-1/2 tsp baking powder
1-1/2 tsp baking soda
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1-1/2 cup coconut oil
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp espresso powder
1 cup boiling water

Preheat the oven to 350 F and grease your pans.

Measure all ingredients except for boiling water into a large mixing bowl. Beat until smooth. Then add the boiling water a little at a time until everything is combined and your “cake batter” looks like a giant bowl of hot chocolate.

Pour into cake pans. If using round 9″ pans, bake for 25-35 minutes. If making cupcakes, bake for 15-25 minutes. If making a teacup cake bake for an hour or more. Of course, you can always check if your cake is done with a wooden skewer.

Look at that! You’re done already!

2 thoughts on “Happy Wednesday!

    • Thanks Richard! It isn’t often I find myself in a situation where the occasion for the cake doesn’t dictate what I write on it. When it came to icing this one I couldn’t think of anything clever… so I went for the obvious. (:

Leave a Reply

